Skip to content

How To Take a Screen Shot With the Snipping Tool

04/27/2012
Snipping Tool

Snipping Tool (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’ve been trying to get some screen shots of the Red-tail Hawk’s nest on the live-stream from Cornell University, and want to share how to do it quick and easy like.

First of all, I am not a techie kind of person, so I can only tell you how I do it.  There may be many ways, for different types of computers and programs, etc. – don’t know (check out the link below, written by someone who knows more).

I am on a laptop that has Windows Vista and this is how I do it:

  1. Go to “start”, bottom left corner of screen
  2. Type in “snip” where you see “start search”
  3. You will see snipping tool listed in the white area at the top.
  4. Click on it.
  5. Choose the area of the screen you want to copy using the mouse.
  6. Save your selection someplace in your photo files.  I have a special folder for screenshots.

Now that I use the snipping tool all the time, it is right on my start-up screen, so to get a “snip” of the hawks I just hover over the tool while watching them and click when I hope to get a good view and shot to save.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,154 other followers