Skip to content

Growing Hyacinths

05/04/2012
Hyacinth flowers

Pink, purple and white hyacinths in the garden.

This is the first time that I’ve grown hyacinths in my yard.

Last fall I bought a bunch of bulbs to add to my new yard and planted tulips, a few daffodils and six hyacinth bulbs.

I put everything out front except the hyacinths and they have their own little garden area near the back deck. The package of bulbs said they were a “mix” of colors and then showed blue, pink, red, yellow, orange, purple and white flowers on the packaging, but as you can see I did not get any but pink, white and purple.

Still, they are pretty and a couple of the plants made two flower stems so I cut off one of the flowers to bring the fragrance inside.

I may get more to plant next Fall and add them out front.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 05/04/2012 9:21 am

    And, hyacinths are so striking on their own that you are right to put them in “their own little garden”. My “mixed” bags have yielded similar colors: purples, pinks, whites. I’ve only ever had one yellow,which (of course) the dog seems to step on every year.

    • 05/04/2012 2:41 pm

      Hi Amanda,
      I love hyacinths and I might try putting them in a pot to grow on the table next year. I suppose there is a trick to doing that.
      Thank you for dropping by.

  2. 05/04/2012 12:15 pm

    Beautfiul! I planted them once ( here in Atlanta) and like all bulbs, the moles voles and/or chipmunks like the taste of them… I tried wrapping some in permatill (stlate chips) and the ones that made it, needed staking. Do yours need staking?

    • 05/04/2012 2:40 pm

      I have not staked them. They aren’t growing very tall. Maybe my cats are keeping the varments away! Thank you for the visit.

Trackbacks

  1. Pretty Tulip Pictures « New England's Narrow Road

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,138 other followers