Skip to content

Setting Up An Art Room

11/20/2009

For the past few weeks the drawing bug has bitten me.  I seem to be feeling the call to get back to what my “gift” is, and that is drawing.  I am not at all a great artist, but it is what I love to do and if you are an artist you, of course, understand.  It’s a part of me that’s been with me from childhood and it will never leave.

Although I have spent the past 30 something years raising kids, mostly on my own -even though I was married (some husbands are like kids themselves)- I seldom had the quiet time to draw anything but a doodle while talking on the phone.  I’ve never taken an art class, so I have to just wing it, but I find drawing to be very comforting and some of my favorite pictures have just sort of appeared as I go.  They begin as one thing and end up completely different.

One time my daughter and I made a little book together – she made hers and I made one.  It was after visiting the classroom where she would be going one year- 1st grade maybe?  And the teacher showed us all these little books that the kids had made.  So we tried it ourselves.  I still have our books – someplace.

But none of my kids seem to have been born with the love of drawing.  My two oldest sons are musicians (guitar and drums) and my daughter is the athlete who snowboards and surfs.

My youngest son has come the closest to showing some talent, but he dislikes drawing and only does it in school when he has to.

A few years ago he brought home a barnyard picture that was the cutest thing I had ever seen!  It was messy, in his true style, but the animals were adorable!  Some of the cutest were his little chickens. 
Hello Chickens postcard
I have whenever I had the urge to draw animals and have tried, they always come out funny looking, but his were straight out of his imagination and they were wonderful!

So I sat down one day and re-drew the chickens using his picture.  They are very close to what he drew and after adding them to my Narrow Road Designs store, have sold quite a few.   In fact I sold these postage stamps yesterday.

Anyway….. I have begun to clear out a spot in the basement for myself.  It’s the only area with natural light coming in the big slider and with the wood stove down there I should be warm enough.  After searching behind all my “stuff” stored against the wall,  I was thrilled to find an electrical outlet over on that side of the basement.

room in the basement

Future Art Room


With all the moving I have done lately I am ready to get organized and find all my pens and pencils and set up a place just for me.  After living here for over a year now it feels more like home and it seems that I will be here for a while so I’d best begin to live and that means doing what I love.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 11/20/2009 7:25 am

    relaxation is as good a reason to produce art as anything else

  2. 11/20/2009 3:59 pm

    I love that picture. It’s great! I am in desperate need of an art room.

  3. 11/23/2009 7:37 pm

    LOVE LOVE LOVE your drawings…I have got to get back at my art too..It’s been way too long…and I feel bad about the logging trucks..
    I don’t like it either….but I do love visiting you so much….

    More Later,
    kary

Leave a Reply

