Skip to content

Blue Snow

03/02/2010

When one and a half feet of snow fell last week, I kept seeing this blue tint in the mounds.

I enhanced this photo a bit in picasa to bring out the blue better so it actually wasn’t quite this bright.

I am not a scientific type person, so I’ve added a link underneath the photo to explain why snow (and ice) sometimes looks blue. I just thought it was unusual and pretty.

blue snow

"blue" snow

Read more about what makes ice and snow blue at the

Alaska Science Forum

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 03/02/2010 11:20 am

    I noticed this blue coloration in our snowfall last month. I don’t remember seeing it as a kid (Montana, where we had quite a lot of snow).

    Are you dug out yet? That was quite a dump of snow you had.

    • 03/05/2010 8:53 am

      Hi Kathryn,
      Well you know about lots of snow don’t you! I’m sick of digging…waiting for the thaw. 🙂

Leave a Reply

