Skip to content

Memorial Day is a Time to Remember

05/31/2010
trees

God Bless You

Today I am remembering the fallen soldiers and the military members serving far from their homes.

God bless the families as they wait for their loved ones to return safely from protecting our country.

I don’t have to attend parades or celebrations to do this, and lately I am not very social, so I will be at home working part of the day and cooking for my little family.   I will talk with my son about what this day means and mention that I had an Uncle who died in WWII.  He already knows about Memorial Day’s real meaning and he has heard me talk about my Uncle, but it is good to remember.

We will give thanks for the ones who gave their lives so we could enjoy this day, and every day, living in a free country.

This is how we know what love is: Jesus Christ laid down his life for us.
And we ought to lay down our lives for our brothers.

1 John 3:16

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 05/31/2010 8:10 am

    I think that maybe one of a thousand Americans still honor the people who gave their lives for the country the way you do. To most, it’s just a day off and an excuse for a BBQ. Good for you! Yesterday, it was reported that the 1000th American died in Afghanistan. He was a 24 -year-old Marine who’d been wounded before and begged (from his hospital bed) to return to the fight.

  2. 05/31/2010 10:37 am

    Thanks Swiss, what a story. They are so brave and unfortunately seldom appreciated as much as they should be. Glad you visited..!

  3. 05/31/2010 11:51 pm

    Beautifully said. Thanks so much.

    Sharon Lovejoy Writes from Sunflower House and a Little Green Island

Leave a Reply

