Skip to content

Happy Birthday To Me!

09/04/2010
Part of this year's twenty. Geez, I'm getting old.

Image via Wikipedia

Another year has passed and it’s time for me to admit that I’ve grown older! I don’t mind really. I never wish I could be young again, but I do wish my body could regain some of it’s young person qualities! Oh well.

Having given birth to four kids over the course of 20 years took it’s toll in the form of varicose veins and stretch marks, and even though I was still fairly thin at the age of 29, everything changed when I turned 30. I suddenly had to actually be careful of what I ate, which turned out to be a good thing because it made me a healthier person.

Then at 40, my eyesight went wonky. I’ve always been near-sighted and worn glasses or contact lenses, but suddenly I couldn’t see up close with glasses on. The optometrist said try progression lenses, so I did. They drove me nuts. Then he said try contacts that worked this way: One eye has great up close vision and the other sees great far away… huh? So I tried it. It was stupid!

So… I gave up wearing contacts. I wear glasses for distance and wear nothing (vision wise!) while doing up close work. It’s tricky at times, like while grocery shopping. My glasses go off and on as I try to navigate the aisles and then read labels. While watching television and knitting at the same time, I either watch a somewhat blurry screen or knit in braille.

I guess the moral of this post is that life requires adjustments. We have no say, just have to make the best of what we get.

My Birthday Illustrated Pin/Button button
My Birthday Illustrated Pin/Button by pamdicar
Browse other Happy Buttons

Are you in the mood to view some awesome cake designs? Check out the unbelievable ones at Highland Bakery, including a giant octopus! I can hardly believe these are cakes.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 09/04/2010 10:52 am

    Happy Birthday! Hope it is a lovely day for you. 🙂

  2. 09/04/2010 1:15 pm

    Enjoy YOUR day!

    CELEBRATE and laugh.

    Love and best wishes,

    Sharon Lovejoy Writes from Sunflower House and a Little Green Island

  3. 09/04/2010 5:23 pm

    I LOVE that cookbook and it is GREAT that you have one that belonged to your mother. The best.

    Keep celebrating-it’s not over yet.

    Love,

    S

  4. 09/08/2010 1:01 pm

    Happy Birthday, Pam! They do make bifocal contact lenses, weighted at the bottom. I never tried them, but was happy with progressive lenses until retinal detachment surgery threw a monkey wrench into everything. For progressive lenses to work properly, they need to be fitted properly by a really good optometrist or ophthalmologist. My first pair of progressive lenses were ill-fitted by a Pearle Vision optometrist. I returned in a few days and had a different doctor at the same place re-do the exam…and that pair turned out great. The difference was like night and day. I’d suggest not giving up on progressive lenses, but demanding another exam by another optometrist until you get glasses that work properly. The quality of the doc makes all the difference.

    • 09/09/2010 10:11 am

      Yes, I’m sure that’s true. I might have to consider them one day, but I’m happy to just take my glasses off to see for now. Although I lose them quite often!!

Leave a Reply

