Skip to content

Searching For Fall Color

10/02/2010
orange maple leaf

Maple Leaf

I’ve been watching for the leaves to change and so far I am a bit disappointed. I do see some very vivid colors in places, but not much around here where I live. The past couple of years the trees were so bright and I’d walk down by the lake almost every day to get some new photos.

So far, there isn’t much to see at the lake and when I took a walk this past week I got a shot of one tree that seems to always have good color, but it was only partially turned.

New England foliage

Some Fall Color

sun through the trees

A walk in the woods

I’ve read that hot, dry summers are not good for producing great Fall color and that is exactly what we had for summer weather this year. So far, I think it might be true. I meant to take my camera and get some shots of one area where I saw some beautiful trees, but I forgot the other day and now the wind and rain has come, so I don’t know what’s left. I guess I’ll just wait and see how the color turns out.
But it is possible to get nice photos of green trees as well.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 10/02/2010 11:44 pm

    Wow….that’s not much of a New England Autumn Spectacular so far, is it? Hope it brightens up before too long. I’m guessing all the bed & breakfasts and inns up there share your concern. Isn’t that one of the big times for tourists when the leaves change? The most beautiful Autumn I ever saw here in Michigan happened in 1991. I’d never seen anything like it before, and nothing’s come close since. I think the intensity of the colors that year were 125% of what they are in a typical Autumn. And no yellows, that I can recall. Nothing buy bright reds and oranges.

  2. 10/03/2010 2:09 am

    Beautiful pics, tho. We aren’t having much color here either, but then we mostly have yellow & bronze.

Leave a Reply

