Skip to content

Pink and Purple Scallop Shells

03/20/2011
calico scallop seashells

Calico Scallop Seashells

These pretty pink and purple spotted shells are Calico Scallops (Argopecten gibbus) and were not hard to find on the Florida beaches. They measure approximately 1-2 inches across and are bivalves.

In fact, I appreciate my shell collection more now since I can’t just head to the beach any time I want. When I lived in Florida I took shells for granted and never knew what they were called or anything about them.

These shells are along the beaches from North Carolina down along the eastern coast of Florida. I don’t remember, but I must have collected them while visiting New Smyrna or Bethune Beach where my friends and I would take our kids to play.

Beaches are full of life and that makes beach-combing an interesting hobby.  And although shells we collect are empty, they were once a home to the mollusk that made them.

Sometimes we’d find seaweed or horseshoe crabs or little pinching crabs running along the sand. And many times there would be round jellyfish (the kind that supposedly don’t sting) washed up all over the sand. I don’t remember seeing any beach glass.  Florida is not listed as one of the better places to find it,  but one northern state is on that list: Maine.

I don’t visit the New England beaches. I have been spoiled by Florida’s smooth sandy beaches with warm water. I can’t believe I ever swam in Maine’s ocean water! Talk about freezing cold.  But if I visited again, I would scan the seashore for interesting seashells.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 03/20/2011 9:28 pm

    Oh the photo is lovely and conjured up so many memories for me. When I beachcombed in Florida it changed my color perceptions. I didn’t want to walk on the sand for fear of crushing something lovely and fragile. And my weavings became filled with lavenders, pinks, coral, and palest of orange.

    Lovely!

    All joys,

    Sharon

Trackbacks

  1. Banded Tulip Seashells | Seashells by Millhill
  2. The Spotted Flamingo Tongue Mollusk | Seashells by Millhill

Leave a Reply

