Skip to content

New Hampshire’s October Snowfall – The First One!

10/29/2011
October snow in New Hampshire

New Hampshire October Snowfall

Our first snow of the season fell in New Hampshire on October 28th and in my area (the Monadnock region) we got a couple of inches. It was heavy wet snow and with lots of leaves still on the trees – isn’t it still Fall? -branches were heavy and drooping.

When I went out to brush off my car, it was like being in the middle of a snowball fight as the big Oak tree that hangs over my driveway dropped it’s snow bombs when the wind blew! (photo below – I took these photos early in the morning)

Oak tree with leaves and snow

The Oak Tree is Still Full of Leaves

My title here says “the first one” because we are expecting more snow today – October 29th. In fact, the forecast is for 6-10 inches with 12 inches in the higher elevations.   I hope all you leaf-peepers have seen the leaves because they will be covered with white soon.…..Yikes – I am not ready for this yet. I still need to get my driveway graded and the house is only partially sided. I knew when I bought this run down place that I had limited time to make improvements before winter hit, but I did think I’d have until around December – November at least!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 10/29/2011 9:08 am

    Reminds me of the old Bing Crosby standard, “I’m Dreaming of a White Halloween.” On the bright side, at least the Klondike Bars you hand out to the kiddies will stay frozen til they get home.

    • 10/29/2011 3:57 pm

      White Halloween is right. I grew up in New England and don’t remember Trick or Treating in the snow – ever.

      • 10/29/2011 9:40 pm

        ” I grew up in New England and don’t remember Trick or Treating in the snow – ever.”

        Exactly! And I lived in Maine 1992-2006. I can’t recall one White Halloween. 😀

Leave a Reply

