Skip to content

It’s May – Here’s My Annual Bug Bite Photo!

05/08/2012
black fly bite

Swelling from a bug bite – black flies.

For those of you who are squeamish – look away! Two days ago I took this photo of my recent encounter with the New England black fly.

It visits us each Spring and I Soooooo look forward to becoming deformed by it’s bite. Apparently only a lucky few of us are affected with swelling from the bites and I am lucky enough to be one of those people. Not every bite swells like this one that resulted from one bite on my upper arm. Some of them only swell to 1/3 this size, and some remain a single red blotch and don’t swell at all.

I have yet to figure out why some of the bites become giant red, itchy blotches. I wake up in the night and just have to scratch all of them. Between those and hot flashes I am really not sleeping well lately.

Working in the yard has become a battle. I must dress in long sleeves, gloves and head-net, and even then they will crawl inside my clothes and bite. My stomach presently has a 4 inch red mark from one and believe me, I have not been showing my stomach.

I feel compelled to get outside on nice days and get some gardening done so I endure the bites, but I am counting the days until the miserable pests disappear for another year.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. swisstoons permalink
    05/08/2012 6:35 pm

    You don’t have a bug bite. A bug bite has an arm.

  2. 05/08/2012 7:28 pm

    OOOOOoooo-weeee! Ouch. One thing we found really helpful with the itching and swelling of mosquitoes is Biofreeze. http://www.biofreeze.com/ I don’t know if it would help with the fly bite, but i swell like this with mosquito bites. (I don’t normally use Biofreeze anymore because of the paraben preservatives in it, but it is wonderful on bug bites.) Hope it gets better soon.

    • 05/09/2012 2:11 am

      Thanks Kathryn – fortunately after a couple of days it’s much better. I’ll have to keep an eye out for biofreeze.

  3. ttsqs permalink
    07/28/2015 10:24 pm

    How do you treat it?

    • 07/29/2015 6:27 am

      Benadryl gel for itching, and Apis Mel for swelling works for me. I will say that I think my body is adjusting to these bites, as now they don’t get quite as large.

      • ttsqs permalink
        08/13/2015 1:38 pm

        Awesome thank you. Had a similar reaction a few weeks ago!

Trackbacks

  1. Now That’s a Bug Bite! « New England's Narrow Road
  2. Who Spends Spring Cleaning the House? | Hydrangeas Blue
  3. Spring Home Fixes For the Handy Woman, Part 2, Replacing a Screen | Hydrangeas Blue

Leave a Reply

